CSC Gold for Meteoor precast plant (September 26th, 2018)
[Meteoor received CSC Gold]
On September 26th, Kiwa handed out the CSC gold certificate to concrete plant De Meteoor B.V.
Consortium Grensmaas CSC certified (12 September 2018)
[Grensmaas CSC certified]
CSC manual now available in Spanish and Turkish (September 2018)
[CSC translated in Spanish and Turkish]
1 January 2017
Industry launches responsibly sourced concrete certification
Initiated by the Cement Sustainability Initiative (CSI) - operating under the umbrella of the World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD) - concrete industry partners from Europe, USA, Latin America and Asia initiated the development of a responsible sourcing certification system to make the concrete and cement sector more sustainable and to improve transparency. The CSC certification system is available online from 1 January 2017.

The Concrete Sustainability Council (CSC) is launching a global responsible sourcing certification system which is designed to help concrete, cement and aggregate companies obtain insight in the level to which a company operates in an environmentally, socially and economically responsible way. The CSC certification system covers the raw materials, its source or provenance, its manufacture and a range of economical, social and environmental impacts. The CSC certification system has been developed together with a large group of the industry as well as certification institutes.

IUCN convened a consultation process with environmental experts and representatives from civil society focused on providing feedback on the system's environmental and social criteria. The revised technical manual addresses some of the feedback received and aims for continuous improvement. In this respect, CSC intends to continue the dialogue with civil society organizations and other stakeholders. The CSC certification system consists of an operational manual and assessment criteria with guidance on their application. A typical certification process includes a number of easy steps, is applicable to all sizes of concrete, cement and aggregate companies, and comprises four levels:
  • bronze
  • silver
  • gold
  • platinum
By creating a certification system for responsibly sourced concrete, the CSC aims to improve transparency of the concrete sector, highlight the essential role of concrete in creating a sustainable construction sector by getting recognition in 'green' procurement government policies and building rating systems.Geneva, 14 January 2017